Sailing Guide

Federated States of Micronesia

Federated States of Micronesia



The Federated States of Micronesia or FSM is an independent, sovereign island nation, made up of four states from west to east: Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae. It comprises approximately 607 islands with c. 700 km2 (270 sq mi) of area in the Western Pacific Ocean spread over almost 2,700 km (1,678 mi) longitudinally just north of the equator, some 4,000 km (2,485 mi) southwest of the main islands of Hawaii and about 2,900 km (1,802 mi) north of eastern Australia, lying northeast of New Guinea, south of Guam and the Marianas, west of Nauru and the Marshalls, and east of Palau and the Philippines.

While the FSM's total land area is quite small, amounting to approximately 702 km2 (271 sq mi), it occupies more than 2,600,000 km2 (1,000,000 sq mi) of the Pacific Ocean. The capital is Palikir, located on Pohnpei island, the largest city being Weno, part of Chuuk.

Each of its four states is centered around one or more main high islands, and all but Kosrae include numerous outlying atolls. The Federated States of Micronesia is spread across part of the Caroline Islands in the wider region of Micronesia, which consists of thousands of small islands divided between several countries. The term Micronesia may refer to the Federated States or to the region as a whole.

Share your comments about "Federated States of Micronesia"


To precisely geolocate this site. Update if necessary.
Sites around Federated States of Micronesia
Flying distances - Direct line


Pohnpei "upon (pohn) a stone altar (pei)" (formerly known as Ponape) is the name of one of the four states in the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), situated among the Senyavin Islands which are part of the larger Caroline Islands group. Palikir, the FSM's capital, is located on ...
20 Apr 12

Nan Madol

1 Jan 70

Pohnepi Harbor

1 Jan 13


1 Jan 13


Small port.
4 Jan 13

Apra Harbor

Harbor protected by a breakwater.
1 Jan 13

Mariana Trench

The Mariana Trench (or Marianas Trench) is the deepest part of the world's oceans, and the deepest location on the surface of the Earth's crust. It has a maximum depth of about 10,911 meters.
12 Apr 09


Small port protected by a breakwater.
1 Jan 13

Shortland Is

19 Aug 07


Small port.
1 Jan 13


Small port.
18 Apr 12


13 Dec 18

Gizo Island

19 Aug 07


Ringi Cove
19 Aug 07


18 Apr 12


19 Aug 07

Tulagi Is

1 Jan 70


19 Aug 07

Manokwari Road

Small port.
18 Apr 12


Small port .
18 Apr 12

Thursday Island

18 Apr 12


Small port.
18 Apr 12


Small port. Bauxite shipping.
11 Nov 12


1 Jan 70
Local Area

NW Pacific Ocean

The Pacific Ocean (from the Latin name Mare Pacificum, "peaceful sea", bestowed upon it by the Portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan) is the largest of the Earth's oceanic divisions. It extends from the Arctic in the north to the Antarctic in the south, bounded by Asia and Australia ...
10 Jan 09

Solomon Islands

Iles Salomon

     Les îles Salomon sont une double chaîne d'îles dans le Pacifique occidental qui s'étend de Vanuatu à Bougainville. Il ya plus de 900 îles, dont les principales sont Guadalcanal, Choiseul, Malaita, la Nouvelle-Géorgie et Santa Isabel.
1 Aug 14


Southeast Asian country consists of an archipelago of 7,641 islands, of which eleven account for more than 90 per cent of the land and just over 2,000 of which are inhabited, while some 2,400 islands received no name.
9 Jan 12

Okhotsk sea

Far Banks Channel 
6 Jun 13
During your navigation, remember to update the data. If a harbor, marina or anchorage is missing, create it. Thank you for all boaters.